Print Friendly and PDF

The Stages of Intermittent Fasting Towards Wellness and Weight Loss

In this article, we look at the wonders of intermittent fasting and its different stages.




You just have to look at magazines and books – there are so many diets. Some of them aren’t even scientifically proven – just a lot of mumble-jumble. If someone loses weight far too quickly because of just eating fruit, they could possibly have diarrhea, fluid and nutrient loss. We look at the wonders of intermittent fasting and its different stages.


The first 12 hours

This first stage of Intermittent Fasting is your hardest. Always be up to date with the latest news and encouragement on intermittent fasting with and get tips on how you can log your progress too.

They offer advice and tips from highly learned scientists and health experts. They show you how you’ll feel on the journey through the 5 stages of intermittent fasting. If you started last night with fasting, your night’s rest will have given you your first 12 hours of fasting.

It won’t have been too difficult and you can start the day actually feeling energized. Missing breakfast might be quite difficult, but once you’re past it, you’ll feel more motivated to go into stage 2.


Stage 2 – 12 – 16 hours

After about 12 hours of fasting, your body starts to increase with fat burning. When insulin levels drop, the fat burning process starts kicking in. Insulin levels usually decrease when we stop eating or we fast.

Your cells also go through a process known as autophagy, where the body gets rid of energy systems within cells to make way for better functioning ones. People during this stage experience increased energy. A bonus part is that this autophagy increases the longer you fast.

It is during this amazing stage that a process known as Migrating Motor Complex or MMC takes place and this is what reduces bloating as your GI tract is cleaned out of fermenting bacteria.


Stage 3 - 16-24 hours

Once you’ve reached 24 hours of fasting, you come to an eating session of 8 hours. This period will allow you to take in a couple of highly nutritious meals to work towards your wellness- and weight loss goals.

Don’t use this time to guzzle on anything you like. The idea is to choose healthy foods that will support your weight loss and wellness goals. Bear in mind too, that you don’t have to have an 8-hour eating window. The important thing is to choose an eating window that fits your lifestyle. br>
It goes without saying that you are now no longer fasting and you’re breaking down and absorbing nutrients. During this eating window, it is important to get sufficient protein, fat and fiber to feel satisfied and to prevent you feeling starved during your next fasting session.


Stage 4 – 24 – 40 hours

Once you’ve relished the last morsel of your meal, you’re about to start the next fasting session. Once again, the amount of time you choose to fast will depend on the length of time you choose to have as your eating window.

During your fasting session or window, you should try to get in some exercise as fat burning is turned on during fasting, and exercising during this time can help your body to use fat as fuel. br>
Don’t rush in and do the most hectic exercise you can think of. It is important to ease slowly into exercise.


Stage 5 - 40-48 hours

You have now reached the final stage of your intermittent fasting, and this means you have come to another eating period. Nothing is set in stone with the amount and type of food you eat, but it is always to your advantage to eat healthy foods.

You want to avoid the typical Western diet of lots of salt, sugar and unhealthy fats and think in terms of fresh fruit and vegetables, nuts, fish, legumes, avocados, olives and so on.

On the days you increase your exercise, you might find you need a bit more protein. The idea is to take it day by day to achieve your weight-loss and wellness goals.